Sunderland voters elect new Select Board, Board of Health members in uncontested races


Published: 5/9/2022 9:16:46 AM

SUNDERLAND — Residents elected new Select Board and Board of Health members during Saturday’s election, which had no contested races.

Voters elected Nathaniel G. Waring to a three-year term on the Select Board with 88 votes. Waring replaces David Pierce, who opted not to run for reelection. Milonda “Mel” Williams was elected with 100 votes to replace Board of Health Chairwoman Caitlyn Rock, who also did not seek reelection.

Turnout was 4.5% as 110 of the town’s 2,463 registered voters cast ballots Saturday.

The rest of the results:

■Moderator, one-year term: David J. Pierce, 101 votes.

■Board of Assessors, three-year term: incumbent James Kowaleck, 103 votes.

■Sunderland School Committee, three-year term: incumbent Jessica C. Corwin, 101 votes.

■Frontier Regional School District Committee, three-year term: Christopher William White, 100 votes.

■Town clerk, three-year term: incumbent Wendy M. Houle, 108 votes.

■Planning Board, five-year term: David Paul Dean, 101 votes.

■Riverside Cemetery trustee, three-year term: incumbent Michael A. Wissemann, 105 votes.

■Sunderland Public Library trustees, three seats with three-year terms: Heidi Bauer-Clapp, incumbent Justine J. Rosewarne and incumbent David Wissemann; 96 votes, 100 votes and 101 votes, respectively.

■Sunderland Public Library trustee, one-year term: Kristyn G. Korpita, 104 votes.

■Town park trustee, three-year term: incumbent Kenneth L. Kushi, 104 votes.


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, your leading source for news in the Pioneer Valley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy