Briefs: High school all-star games; Amherst youth hockey, swimming success

  • The Amherst Tritons swim team that competed at the New England championships: Front row, from left: Noa Chambers, of Amherst; Emma St. Hillaire, of Erving; Kylie Donaldson, of Turners Falls; Margaret Melnik, of Deerfield. Top row, from left: Joshua Dion, of Sunderland; Callum McDonald, of Amherst; head coach Evan Mazcka; Samuel Kennedy, of Amherst; and Eric Lian, of Amherst. Not pictured: Sadie Cyr, of Hadley; Kenadie Kocot, of Conway; and Kaelyn Zakaitis, of Amherst. SUBMITTED PHOTO

  • The Amherst Rangers PeeWee White hockey team won a state title this weekend. Front row, from left: James Burke, of Hadley; Nate Hawkins, of Pelham; Maxwell Krause, of Belchertown; goalie Spencer McDonald, of Amherst; Nathaniel Oldenburg, of Belchertown; and Joshua Goodhind, of Shutesbury. Top row, from left: Derek Wissmann, of Turners Falls; Luke Walker, of Ware; Peter Sullivan, of Leeds; Zackary Aktiv, of Three Rivers; and Jameson Dion, of Leverett. Coaches, from left: assistant coach Bryan Burke, assistant coach Paul Goodhind, assistant coach Toby Wissmann, assistant coach Eric Aktiv, and head coach David Sullivan. SUMBITTED PHOTO

Monday, March 12, 2018
IAABO Board 28 to hold All-Star games

The Hampshire-Franklin International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Board 28 will host the 21st annual All-Star Games, Friday at Smith Academy in Hatfield.

The girls East vs. West game is at 6 p.m., followed by the boys East vs. West at 7:30 p.m. Admission is $5 for adults, $3 for seniors and students, and free for active and reserve military with valid ID.

Proceeds will benefit the William F. Casey Scholarships.

Board 28 will be honoring Belchertown High School with the Jack Leaman Sportsmanship Award, given to the school whose players, coaches and athletic department staff display outstanding sportsmanship during the year. Also being honored at the games will be Smith Academy athletic director and former IAABO Board 28 official David Keir with the Tom Cove Award for his long-lasting contributions to the game of basketball in Hampshire and Franklin Counties.

Local players for the East boys team are: Amherst Regional’s Kyle Murray and Tate Rietkerk; Belchertown’s Cyrus Raines and Nolan Vogel; Granby’s Ryan Sheehan; Hopkins Academy’s Justin Ciaglo, John Earle and Jonathan Morrison; and Smith Academy’s Matt Bouley. The East is coached by Matt Zerneri of Smith Academy and Eugene Rich of Ware.

Local players for the West boys are: Easthampton’s Ant Moynihan, Sopie Pek; Frontier Regional’s Ben Litskoski; Gateway Regional’s Nathaniel Bushor; Hampshire Regional’s David Helems; Northampton’s Diego Corrada-Mattei, Andy Grygorcewicz; Smith Vocational’s Luis Acosta; and South Hadley’s Calvin Bridges. Coaches are Rey Harp of Northampton and Lee Mollison of Hampshire.

Local players for the East girls are: Belchertown’s Samantha Birks, Granby’s Mallory Beauregard; Hopkins academy’ Leah Picard; Smith academy’s Hannah Rickert and Mary Whalen; and South Hadley’s Abby Edge and Mikhaila Edge. Coaches are Fran Lafond of Smith Academy and Dan Orszulak of Ware.

Local players for the West girls are: Easthampton’s Juli Korza; Frontier Regional’s Lexa Boyden and Ella Deane; Gateway Regional’s Megan Wright; Hampshire’s Katelyn Pickunka; Northampton’s Claire Babbott-Bryan, Bailey Maurer and Emma Tanner; and smith Vocational’s Natasha Ding. Coaches are Perry Messer of Northampton and Sean Knightly of Franklin Tech.

Amherst Rangers win state title

The Amherst Rangers Peewee (ages 11-12) White team from the Amherst Hockey Association won the Massachusetts Hockey Tier III Medium State Championship, Sunday afternoon at Amelia Park Ice Arena with a 3-2 win over Whitman Hanson Kingston Hawks.

Amherst went 2-1 in pool play with wins over Melrose Youth Hockey, 5-3, and Twin City (Fitchburg/Leominster), 4-0, and a 2-1 loss to WHK Hawks.

Amherst beat Wakefield, 2-1 in overtime, in a semifinal Sunday morning. Nate Hawkins scored the game-winner 12 seconds into overtime with an assist from Peter Sullivan.

Luke Walker (assist), Sullivan and Hawkins (assist) scored in the title game. Jameson Dion had two assists, while Nate Oldenburg had one.

Amherst’s Squirt White (9-10) lost in the championship game in Tier II Medium. Amherst’s Peewee Red 911-12) lost in the semifinals in Tier II Medium.

Amherst Tritons swim at regionals

The Amherst Tritons swim team placed 12th at the New England Swimming Championships, which closed Sunday at Boston University.

Top scorers for the team were Joshua Dion (105 points), of Sunderland, Callum McDonald (74.5) of Amherst, and Noa Chambers (69) of Amherst. The relay team of Dion, McDonald, Eric Lian and Samuel Kennedy delivered 144 points, taking fourth in the 400 free relay, fifth in both the 200 medley and the 200 free, and sixth in the 400 medley relay.

Chambers placed fifth in the 200 backstroke; Dion was fourth in the 200 back, fifth in both the 100 back and 100 butterfly and 10th in the 50 free; Kennedy was 10th in the 100 fly; Kenadie Kocot was seventh in the 50 free; Lian was seventh in the 50 free; McDonald was fifth in the 1,000 free, sixth in both the 200 free and 500 free, and seventh in the 1,650 free.

Kellogg, Segger win national luge title

Dana Kellogg, of Williamsburg, and teammate Duncan Segger placed first at the USA Luge Junior National Seeding Championships, Sunday.

The pair won the Youth Double’s in 1 minute, 29.273 seconds. The race doubled as a one-day national title.

Luke Voegell and Michael O’Gara were second in 1:30.753.