South Hadley town election set for Tuesday 

  • South Hadley Town Hall  GAZETTE FILE PHOTO

Staff Writer
Published: 4/8/2019 1:29:53 PM

SOUTH HADLEY — Two write-in candidates are vying for a Planning Board seat in Tuesday’s town election after the board’s only candidate on the ballot announced that he plans to resign if elected.

The election will also feature two contested seats for Select Board and town moderator.

Vernon L. Blodgett, Jr. is the only candidate on the ballot for a vacant Planning Board seat but told the Gazette that he plans to resign if elected due to a health setback. 

Two candidates, Joanna Brown and Jeff Squire, are running write-in campaigns for the Planning Board seat. 

Squire is the current Planning Board chairman, whose term ends this year. Squire came up two signatures short at the deadline to earn a spot on the ballot, creating the vacant seat. Brown is currently a precinct E Town Meeting member.

Blodgett has endorsed Brown for the Planning Board seat.

If Blodgett is elected and resigns, the seat will be filled by a joint vote of the Select Board and Planning Board.

Allyson M. Garcia and Christopher F. Geraghty are running for one open Select Board seat. Current Select Board chairman Ira Brezinsky is not seeking reelection at the end of his term this year.

Andrew H. Beaudry and John R. Hine are both running for a two-year term as town moderator. Previous Town Moderator Edward J. Ryan, Jr., who was also the town counsel, died in July during the first year of a three-year term.

Voting for all precincts will take place at South Hadley High School at 153 Newton St. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Jacquelyn Voghel can be reached at

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2020 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy