Andy Churchill: Candidates with ‘thougthful, balanced leadership’

  • Glenn Carstens-Peters/StockSnap Glenn Carstens-Peters/StockSnap

Published: 10/31/2023 12:28:38 PM
Modified: 10/31/2023 12:27:09 PM

Amherst’s elected leadership climate has been turbulent recently. In some situations it feels like emotions have gotten out ahead of the actual facts. So when I vote on Nov. 7, I will be looking for people to represent me who are both caring and fact-based, people who can balance the head and the heart in their decision-making. Incumbents Andy Steinberg, Mandi Jo Hanneke, and Irv Rhodes have demonstrated this kind of thoughtful, balanced leadership. I am also excited to vote for newcomers Sarah Marshall, Deb Leonard, and Matt Holloway for School Committee and Town Council roles. Sarah is a former teacher and bookkeeper (both useful for school committee work!) with seven years of service on town committees, including the sixth grade middle school task force, the Zoning Board of Appeals, and the Craig’s Doors homeless shelter board. Deb is a trained physicist who has taught at ARHS and local colleges. She has also provided years of volunteer service in district committees, administrator searches, and library and lab roles. She knows our schools inside and out. Matt works in special education and has two young boys; he is deeply invested in Amherst’s future. He also brings experience on the Finance Committee, the Cultural Council, and as co-chair of the recent elementary school campaign. He will be ready to go on Day One. Please join me in voting for these thoughtful community leaders on Nov. 7.

Andy Churchill



Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, your leading source for news in the Pioneer Valley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

23 Service Center Road
Northampton, MA 01060


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy