Friends and neighbors

Last modified: Friday, August 07, 2015


Dylan K. Hebert was awarded faculty honors for the spring semester at Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut.

A. Miguel Reda received three awards from the University of Vermont: the Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources Emerging Leadership Award, the UVM Ram Vincent-Bryan Community Builders Award and the UVM Provost Trailblazer Award for courage, persistence and contributions to break down barriers and advance equity, diversity and social justice in higher education.


Taylor Lewis graduated from Le Moyne College in Syracuse, New York, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, magna cum laude. Lewis was also named to the spring semester dean’s list at the college.


Margaret G. Yurgielewicz was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Wheaton College, Norton. She received a bachelor degree, majoring in anthropology with a minor in French and general education. She was also inducted into the Pi Delta Phi French honor society. Through the WorldTeach organization, Yurgielewic will be teaching English as an international education volunteer at Matafao Elementary School on the island of Tutuila, American Somoa for the next 12 months. She is a 2011 graduate of Northampton High School and the daughter of Nancy Miller and James Yurgielewicz of Leeds.


Harold Max Sussman earned a bachelor’s degree with a major in environmental studies and a minor in religion at Denison University, Granville, Ohio. He was a recipient of the Denison Alumni Scholarship.

Asa Spencer has been accepted into the Teach For America 2015 teaching corps. Corps members commit to teach in high-need urban or rural public schools and become lifelong advocates for educational equity.

Spencer, a 2008 graduate of Northampton High School and a 2012 graduate of Wheaton College, Norton, will teach in Buffalo, New York.

Connor Paradis, who graduated from Northampton High School in June, was named the recipient of the first-ever Walter J. Zarichak Scholarship Award, from the Holyoke Soldier’s Home for a student pursuing a career in the fine or performing arts. The award is made in honor of longtime trustee Walter Zarichak, who passed away last year. Paradis will attend Boston University in the fall, where he will enter the College of Fine Arts. He plans to study acting in the school of theater.

Paradis is the son of John and Denise Paradis. John is the deputy superintendent at the Soldiers’ Home; Denise is a pharmacist at Cooley Dickinson Hospital in Northampton.

South Hadley

Taylor Guertin received a general studies award from the Chicopee Savings Bank Charitable Foundation Awards annual scholarship award program. She graduated second in a class of 140 from South Hadley High School and will attend the University of Massachusetts in Amherst.

Guertin’s awards, scholastic activities and community services include: National Honor Society, four years; student council secretary; class officer, vice president; field hockey captain; all league selection; track and field captain and Yale Book Club Award. Guertin also volunteered at Ronald McDonald House; the Special Olympics; and Bag the Community for South Hadley Food Pantry.

Pomfret School

The following local students were named to the spring semester high honor roll at Pomfret School in Pomfret, Conn.

Matthew Parent of Belchertown, class of 2016; Phoebe Pliakas-Smith of Conway, class of 2016; Alex Foley of Deerfield, class of 2016, and Abbey Haggerty of Southampton, class of 2015.

Simmons College

The following local residents recently received degrees from Simmons College in Boston.

Amherst: Kristin Lynn Van Patten, Emma Parker Clement and Deborah Jane Gilmore; Easthampton: Beth Ann Yanuskiewicz; Florence: Johanna Radding, A. Michelle Parker and Mark Edward Parsons; Northampton: Ryan M. Duffy, Amanda Dian MacLeod and Katherine Elizabeth Zdepski; South Hadley: Katelyn Rebecca Nelson; West Chesterfield: Leah Kathryn Lyons

The following local residents were named to the spring semester dean’s list at Simmons.

Katherine South of Belchertown; Katherine McKemmie of Easthampton; Angelica Maulucci, Marissa Pellegrino and Eleanor Pullan, all of Florence; Elizabeth Leonard of Northampton; Cortney Hanrahan of Southampton; Leah Lyons of West Chesterfield; and Shannon Diggins of Westhampton.

St. Stanilaus Kostka Scholarships

The St. Stanislaus Kostka Scholarship Committee of the former Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish in Easthampton has announced this year’s scholarship winners. They are:

Ryan Boisjolie of Easthampton. He recently graduated from American International College in Springfield with a degree in occupational science and is now in the master’s degree program in occupational therapy.

Jessica Kowal from Southampton. She completed her freshman year at Springfield College with a GPA of 3.90. She is majoring in health science with a goal of becoming a physician assistant.

Adam Provost from Easthampton. He complete his freshman year at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst with a GPA of 3.62. He is majoring in biology with the addition of pre-med work. His goal is to become a medical doctor.

All were members of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish when it closed five years ago.

Union College

The following local students were named to the dean’s list at the college in Schenectady, New York.

Amherst: Erik Abdow, class of 2016, majoring in economics; Natalia Ciesielska, class of 2017, majoring in biology; Jesse Coull class of 2016, majoring in mechanical engineering; Ian Davies class of 2015, majoring in mechanical engineering; Brendan O’Connor, class of 2017, majoring in physics, and Kevin Tran, class of 2017, majoring in economics.

Easthampton: Nicholas Weidhaas IV, class of 2015, majoring in geology.

Hatfield: Maddison Stemple-Piatt, class of 2017, majoring in psychology.

University Of
New England

These area students have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at the University of New England in Biddeford and Portland, Maine.

Belchertown: Andrew Davidsohn, Michael Fitzpatrick, Adam Messier, Kendall Supple; Florence: Jessica Mikaelian; South Hadley: Meghan McClaflin; Southampton: Meghan Hurley; Sunderland: Brenna Sicard


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, your leading source for news in the Pioneer Valley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy