Town elections set in South Hadley

Staff Report

Published: 03-28-2023 6:10 AM

SOUTH HADLEY — Know Your Town of South Hadley will host a candidates’ night Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in the Community Room of the Main Public Library.

The town election is April 11. The following candidates for public office have agreed to appear:

Andrea Miles and Nicole Casolari, Select Board; Lynda Pickbourn Smith, School Committee; Nathan Therien, Planning Board; Karen Walsh Pio, Board of Health; John Hine, Municipal Light Board; Kevin Taugher, Board of Assessors; David Morrell, Susan Obremski-Crowther and Anne Moore, public library trustee.

Candidates will have two minutes to give an opening statement, after which audience members may submit written questions to the moderator, who will ask them of the candidates, or they may ask a question directly to the candidates at a microphone in the seating area.

Write-in candidates who have informed Know Your Town of their write-in status will be given the chance to stand and give their name and the office for which they are seeking election.

Light refreshments will be served. Face masks are highly recommended, though not required.

Channel 15 will broadcast the program live and record it for the Channel 15 website.

The only contested town election on the ballot so far is for public library trustee. The full list of candidates is as follows (three-year terms unless specified otherwise):

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Hampshire Mall sells for fraction of assessed value at $7M
A doctor’s boarders: Dr. Jessica Bossie’s mission to help the homeless find the right house
Belchertown athletic director Jen Gouvin moving on after 5½ years
DOT to transition traffic on I-91S in Northampton to permanent bridges Thursday night
Divided over school funding, Northampton council fails to pass mayor’s budget
Hampshire College to cut benefits as enrollment for next school year comes in below projections

■ Select Board, Andrea Miles, Nicole Casolari (incumbents)

■School Committee, Lynda Pickbourn Smith (incumbent), Daniel Vieu Jr. (write-in)

■School Committee (1-year), Lawrence Dixon

■Board of Health, Gerald Judge, Karen Walsh Pio (incumbents)

■Municipal Light Board, John Hine (incumbent)

■Municipal Light Board (one-year), Ronald Coutu (write-in)

■Board of Assessors, Kevin Taugher (incumbent)

■Planning Board, Nathan Therien, Diane Supczak-Mulvaney

■Public library trustee (three seats), Gillian Woldorf, David Morrell, Susan Obremski-Crowther (incumbents), Anne Moore.

Fire Districts No. 1 and No. 2 also will hold their annual elections April 11.

There is a contested election for clerk/treasurer in District 1. Kari Scytkowski is challenging incumbent Terie Fleury for the position.

The other candidates up for election in District 1, Fleury said, are Eden DuPerier, water commissioner; John Wojciechowski, Prudential Committee; and Edward Wall, moderator.

There are no contested elections in District 2, Clerk/Treasurer Barbara Miller said. Robert Bak is seeking a three-year term and John Moriarty a one-year term on the Prudential Committee; Adam Hogan is the candidate for water commissioner; and Carlene Hamlin is running for moderator.

Voters also will be asked to elect 44 Town Meeting members.

Friday is the last day to register to vote in the town elections. Voters can request a mail-in ballot until April 4. Voting is at South Hadley High School, 158 Newton St., from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. April 11.