With slew of write-ins, Whately Cemetery Commission and library trustee seats yet to be filled


Staff Writer

Published: 06-19-2023 12:28 PM

WHATELY — Two races will need to be sorted out by the Select Board in the coming weeks as several write-in candidates tied for victory in last week’s town election.

In an election with no contested races, there was a six-way tie for a three-year term as cemetery commissioner, and write-in candidates will need to accept their victory for two seats with three-year terms as library trustees. None of the three positions had candidates on the ballot.

As it stands, Adelia Bardwell, Joseph Skroski, Dylan Uzdavinis, Ellen Brown, Wayne Hutkowski and Don Skroski all received one write-in vote for the cemetery commissioner position, while 12 people were written in for the two library trustee seats with varying numbers of votes.

Town Clerk Amy Lavallee said she is reaching out to all the write-in candidates to see if they are interested in accepting the roles and then she will bring those names to the next Select Board meeting.

In the case of the cemetery commissioner seat, the Select Board will appoint someone to serve the term. For the library trustees, there may be an outright winner based on the number of votes cast, but in the case of a tie, the same process applies.

The remaining results are as follows:

■Moderator, one-year term — Nathanael Fortune, 54 votes.

■Select Board, three-year term — Joyce Palmer-Fortune, 56 votes.

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Next 5-story building cleared to rise in downtown Amherst
‘Our hearts were shattered’: Moved by their work in Mexico soup kitchen, Northampton couple takes action
Hampshire County youth tapped to advise governor’s team
Amherst-Pelham schools look to address school absences with new plan
Northampton School Committee takes stand for budget increase during emotional meeting
Amherst regional superintendent candidate stresses inclusion, broad expertise

■Town clerk, two-year term — Amy Lavallee, 64 votes.

■Whately Elementary School Committee, three-year term — Henry Frechette III, 62 votes.

■Board of Assessors, three-year term — Melanie Chorak, 57 votes.

■Board of Health, three-year term — Rebecca Jones, 65 votes.

■Water commissioner, three-year term — Georgeann Dufault, 63 votes.

■Elector Under Oliver Smith Will, one-year term — Keith Bardwell, 66 votes.

Chris Larabee can be reached at clarabee@recorder.com or 413-930-4081.]]>