Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 26° | Lo 17°

Weekend Planner — Music: Springfield Symphony Orchestra

Czech composer Anton Dvorak’s two greatest works make up the program for Saturday’s concert by the Springfield Symphony Orchestra: his “tirelessly melodic and brilliantly scored” Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”) and his “grand and emotionally intense” Cello Concerto (“The Rough Guide to Classical Music”). Soloist for the latter is Russian-American cellist Nina Kotova (pictured), who is an accomplished composer as well as a virtuoso instrumentalist (her own cello concerto was acclaimed by The San Francisco Chronicle as “a complex and gripping affair [that] stands in defiance of last century’s modernism”).

8 p.m. in Springfield’s Symphony Hall. $22-$65; ages 17 and under half-price. 733-2291, springfieldsymphony.org

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.