WMass golf tournaments get underway

Staff Writer
Published: 10/20/2019 9:53:39 PM

The postseason begins on Monday for high school golfers.

The Western Massachusetts Division 1 Tournament will be held at Southampton Country Club, while the Division 3 tournament will be held at Agawam Municipal Golf Course.

On Tuesday, the Division 2 tournament will tee off at the Country Club of Pittsfield.

The Division 3 field will have a shotgun start at 9 a.m. Division 1 and 2 will go off at 10 a.m.

Division 1

Amherst Regional and Belchertown are among the seven teams competing.

Evan Rutherford, Eli Kayser-Hirsh, Piet Hartman, Chase Lashway, Ben Oates and Skyler Ferro will play for Amherst. The low four scores count for the team total.

Brady Perkins, Ben Anderson, Dan Chrzanowski, Ryan O’Neil, Riley Breen and Tim Roda will tee it up for Belchertown.

Agawam, East Longmeadow, Longmeadow, Minnechaug and Westfield are also vying to be one of two teams that qualify for the state tournament.

Holyoke’s Ryan Maloney and Northampton’s Camille Richmond are among the individuals competing for medalist honors.

Richmond won the Western Mass. Girls Individual Tournament in a playoff earlier this season.

The top six individuals plus ties advance to states.

Division 3

No local teams qualified for the tournament.

Daniel Cavanaugh, of Smith Academy, will play as an individual and look to qualify for the state meet. The senior will tee off the 18th hole with David Romani, of Westfield Tech, and Cooper Rothvoss, of Mount Everett.

Division 2

Frontier Regional, South Hadley and Easthampton are among the teams competing in Berkshire County.

Easthampton will be making its fall postseason debut. The Eagles last made the postseason in 2008 when golf was a spring sport.

Tyler Colby, Tyler Cortis, Alexander Fisher, Andrew Thompson, Michael Thompson and Dylan Marsh will play for the Eagles.

Frontier Regional will send Mikey Corduff, Kyle Maynard, Gunnar Moore, Porter Clancy, Bryan Baumann and Rowan Blair. Corduff and Maynard won the PVIAC Two-Ball Tournament.

South Hadley will field Jared Waite, Logan Waite, Nick Cirone, Sean Sears, Ben Gardiner and Nick Hartley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2019 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy