Two newcomers, one incumbent take Deerfield Planning Board seats

  • Deerfield residents cast their votes in the annual town election on Monday at Town Hall. STAFF PHOTO/ANDY CASTILLO

  • Campaign signs line the street near Deerfield Town Hall on Monday. STAFF PHOTO/ANDY CASTILLO

  • Deerfield residents cast their votes in the annual town election on Monday at Town Hall. STAFF PHOTO/ANDY CASTILLO

Staff Writer
Published: 5/5/2021 8:36:39 PM

SOUTH DEERFIELD — Planning Board member Rachel Blain, who was reelected Monday to serve another three-year term, will be joined on the board by newcomers Kathleen Sylvester and Andrea Leibson.

Blain was reelected with 418 votes. Sylvester and Leibson were also elected to serve three-year terms with 354 votes and 338 votes, respectively, according to results posted on the town website.

With five residents running for three open seats on the Planning Board, it was the only contested race in the election held at Town Hall. Of the 3,936 registered voters, 585 cast ballots, a turnout of nearly 15%.

Blain previously said she hoped to return for another term, bringing with her what she has learned during her tenure on the board.

Leibson, who recently retired as executive director of the Franklin County Community Meals Program, said in her candidate statement that she cares about the protection and maintenance of farmland, conservation land and residential land, and in general, cares for the town she has lived in for 35 years.

Sylvester, a resident of the county for 44 years, is a family nurse practitioner who values “the quality of life a small town brings,” according to her candidate statement.

The remaining candidates on Monday’s ballot, who ran unopposed, included:

■Select Board, three-year term: Carolyn Shores Ness (incumbent).

■Deerfield School Committee, two seats with three-year terms: Erica Jacob and Mary Ramon (incumbent).

■Assessor, three-year term: Charles A. Shattuck III (incumbent).

■Constable, three-year term: Raymond Burniske Jr. (incumbent).

■Elector under the will of Oliver Smith, one-year term: Leslie Dwight.

■Frontier Regional School District School Committee member, three-year term: Olivia Leone.

■Tilton Library trustee, three-year term: James Cambias

■Planning Board, one-year term: Kathleen Watroba.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2020 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy