Westhampton planning chair Bronstein wins Select Board seat by 4 votes


Staff Writer

Published: 06-06-2023 9:49 AM

WESTHAMPTON — Susan Bronstein defeated Jonathan Albitz by four votes in the town’s Select Board race on Saturday, according to Town Clerk Katrin Kaminsky’s unofficial results.

Bronstein, the chairperson of the Westhampton Planning Board, said Monday she was very happy with the news. She replaces Phil Dowling, who served on the board for three terms before deciding to step down.

“I thank the townspeople for their confidence in me,” she said.

Of the town’s 1,343 registered voters, 244 cast ballots, or 18%.

Bronstein was also reelected for another three-year term on the Planning Board alongside John Zimmerman.

For the Finance Committee, Jeremy Durrin and Jennifer Milikowsky were elected for two of the three three-year terms; and Richelle Hurd and Carla Lussier were both elected for the two one-year terms. The third three-year seat and one two-year seat are currently still vacant.

Peter Cleary was reelected to a three-year term on the Elementary School Committee. Write-in candidate Julia Lennen defeated fellow write-in candidate Brad Morse 67-55 to claim an open seat.

Incumbent Anne Marie O’Reilly and Jacqueline Brodeur were both elected to three-year terms as a library trustee. Other incumbents reelected were Thomas M. Cleary Jr., reelected to the Regional School Committee; Thomas A. Jenkins, who won another one-year term as tree warden; Benjamin A. Warren, elected for another one-year term as moderator; and Charles Inman, who won another three-year term as constable.

Emily Thurlow can be reached at ethurlow@gazettenet.com.]]>

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles