Three more Northampton School Committee members will not seek reelection

  • Lonnie Kaufman

  • Northampton School Committee members Lonnie Kaufman, standing left, and Sean Condon, are inaugurated in 2019. Kaufman and Condon, along with committee member Rebecca Busanky, announced Thursday they won’t seek reelection this fall. Gazette file photo

Staff Writer
Published: 5/29/2021 8:00:29 AM

NORTHAMPTON — Five out of nine members of the School Committee will not be running for reelection, with three more members announcing Thursday that they will not seek another term.

In addition to the five members who will not seek reelection, Northampton Mayor David Narkewicz, who chairs the committee, is not running for another mayoral term and will leave the committee after this year.

At a Thursday night School Committee meeting, members Rebecca Busanky (Ward 1), Lonnie Kaufman (Ward 6) and Sean Condon (Ward 4) announced that they would not run for reelection. At a May 13 meeting, members Susan Voss (at-large) and Laura Fallon (Ward 2) also announced that they would step down from their roles after their current terms run out.

Kaufman decided not to run for personal reasons, he said Friday.

“My wife is retiring from the district in September, and I’m pulling back from my responsibilities,” Kaufman said, “so we are going to be spending more time together.”

“I think it was a valuable part of my life,” he added, “but again, I’m just trying to pull back a bit.”

Kaufman served on the School Committee for almost five years, starting on the committee as a mid-term appointment by the School Committee and City Council.

Condon declined to comment further on his decision, and Busanky could not be reached for comment on Friday.

Next year’s committee will be relatively new to the role, Kaufman noted, as all members who are running for reelection are in their first term.

The remaining School Committee members, Dina Levi (Ward 5), Emily Serafy-Cox (Ward 3), Kaia Goleman (Ward 7) and Roni Gold (at-large) have all said that they will seek reelection.

Those interested in running for a committee position have until July 30 at 5 p.m. to submit nomination papers to the board of registrars, and until Aug. 13 to submit papers to the city clerk.

Jacquelyn Voghel can be reached at


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, your leading source for news in the Pioneer Valley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy