Plainfield voters to consider $2M budget, no races in Saturday elections

For the Gazette
Friday, May 05, 2017

PLAINFIELD — Voters Saturday will consider a $2,013,387 budget for fiscal 2018 at the annual Town Meeting and will see no races on the ballot at the polls.

The budget next fiscal year includes $839,270 for education and the total operating budget is up by $24,613 from fiscal 2017.

According to Finance Committee Chairman Lewis Robbins, there are no large ticket items for purchase on the warrant this year.

Voters will consider transferring various amounts of monies from free cash to pay for items including $16,000 for a plow, wing plow, plow frame, and hydraulics system; $9,000 for a new furnace for the Highway Garage; $5,000 to upgrade Town Office technology; and $5,000 to purchase and outfit a vehicle for the town’s animal control officer.

Residents will vote on making amendments to the Mohawk Trail Regional Agreement and accepting the town of Rowe as an additional member of the district.

Voters will also see an article on solar facilities, in which they will consider authorizing the Select Board to negotiate and enter into standard tax agreements or agreements for payments-in-lieu-of-taxes for both real and personal property associated with installment of solar photovoltaic facilities.

Three nonbinding resolutions will also be on the warrant including one to address the growing threat of climate change, one to endorse the protection of pollinators and the enhancement of pollinator habitat, and one called the American Anti-Corruption Act which seeks to make it illegal to purchase political influence.

The annual Town Meeting will begin at 1 p.m. and take place at the Town Hall.

Annual town elections

The annual town elections will take place at the Town Hall from noon to 6 p.m.

The following incumbents are running unopposed:

Helene Tamarin, Board of Assessors, three-year term; Linda Carver, Board of Health, three-year term; Howard Bronstein, Board of Selectmen, three-year term; Lynn Robbins, Liberty Trustees, three-year term; Laurie Israel, Moderator, one-year term; Leslie Rule, 27 Broom St., School Committee, three-year term; Winton Pitcof, Tree Warden, one-year term; David Alvord, Whiting Street Fund Disbursement Committee, three-year term.