Erica Flood leaves at-large council race in Easthampton

  • Erica Flood in front of the Easthampton municipal building in 2020. STAFF PHOTO / CAROL LOLLIS

Staff Writer
Published: 9/27/2021 12:18:51 PM

EASTHAMPTON — City Councilor At-Large Erica Flood has dropped out of the Nov. 2 election, leaving five candidates for four at-large seats.

Flood, first elected by council members to fill a vacancy in October 2020, recently notified City Clerk Barbara LaBombard of her intention to withdraw, according to the clerk’s office.

The deadline for candidates to withdraw is Thursday, Sept. 30, at 5 p.m., at which point the clerk will determine the ballot order in a random drawing.

“Although it was a difficult decision to make, it was the best for me at this time,” Flood wrote in an email to the Gazette. “I believe City Council will be in good hands with newcomers that have been certified for the ballot and I simply need some time and space to focus on my professional life and family.”

Flood said she has two years left in her term as president of the Easthampton Media board of directors, a commitment she made before her appointment to the council.

“In recent days I’ve realized I can try to do everything or I can do a few things well,” Flood said. “I chose the latter.”

With Flood out and City Council President Peg Conniff not seeking reelection, incumbents Owen Zaret and Lindsey Rothschild face challengers Koni Fay Denham, Brad Riley and David Meunier. Voters in the council race will use the traditional method to choose four at-large councilors, in which the top vote-getters are elected, also known as first-past-the-post voting.

Mayor Nicole LaChapelle is running for a third term against Fort Hill Brewery owner Eric Berzins and city resident Keith Routhier, as of Monday. Voters in the mayor’s race will use ranked-choice voting to eliminate two candidates.

Every precinct councilor is running unopposed for reelection: James “J.P.” Kwiecinski of Precinct 1, Homar Gomez of Precinct 2, Thomas Peake of Precinct 3, Salem Derby of Precinct 4 and Daniel Rist of Precinct 5. City councilors serve two-year terms.

The deadline to register to vote is Oct. 13 at 8 p.m.

Brian Steele can be reached at

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy