Town contests take shape for Nov. 2 election in Amherst

  • Amherst Town Hall GAZETTE FILE PHOTO

Staff Writer
Published: 9/21/2021 7:53:49 PM

AMHERST — Contested elections for many of the seats on the Town Council, and for positions on the School Committee, will highlight the Nov. 2 ballot.

The ballot also features a referendum on the $36.3 million Jones Library expansion and renovation project, as well as races for positions on the Amherst Housing Authority and the position of Elector Under the Oliver Smith Will. The only townwide positions without a contest are for the six trustees for the Jones Library.

A total of 19 residents, including nine incumbents, are seeking the 13 seats on the Town Council, three of which are decided by all voters in town and 10 of which are decided by voters in five districts. Only District 1 in North Amherst and District 5 in South Amherst will not have contested elections for their two representatives to the council.

Competing for the three at-large councilor positions are incumbents Andy Steinberg of Hitching Post Road and Mandi Jo Hanneke of Foxglove Lane. They are joined by Ellisha Walker of Autumn Lane, co-chairwoman of the Community Safety Working Group; longtime Town Meeting member Vincent O’Connor of Summer Street; Holyoke Community College professor Robert Greeney of McClellan Street; and former School Committee member Viraphanh Douangmany-Cage of Longmeadow Drive.

In District 2, incumbents Lynn Griesemer of Flat Hills Road and Pat De Angeli, of Ward Street are seeking reelection alongside Maximiliano Alaghband of Shutesbury Road.

In District 3, incumbents George Ryan of Dana Street and Dorothy Pam of Amity Street, are seeking reelection alongside Jennifer Taub of Lincoln Avenue.

In District 4, Evan Ross of Spaulding Street is seeking reelection alongside Pamela Rooney of Cottage Street and Anika Lopes of Chestnut Street.

Even with no contests in Districts 1 and 5, both will have new representatives, with Michele Miller of Old Montague Road joining incumbent Cathy Schoen of Montague Road in District 1, and Ana Devlin Gauthier of Bay Road joining Shalini Bahl-Milne of Linden Ridge Road in District 5.

Four incumbents are not seeking reelection, including At-Large Councilor Alisa Brewer, District 1 Councilor Sarah Swartz, District 4 Councilor Steve Schreiber and District 5 Councilor Darcy DuMont.

For School Committee, seven people are seeking the five positions, with incumbents Allison McDonald of Hop Brook Road, Heather Lord of Riverglade Drive, Benjamin Herrington of Southpoint Drive and Peter Demling of Atwood Circle running for reelection. Others competing are Irv Rhodes of Pondview Drive, Jennifer Shiao Page of Potwine Lan, and Phoebe Merriam of Western Lane.

For Elector under the Oliver Smith Will, incumbent Carol Gray of South East Street is being challenged by Sarah Marshall of Eames Avenue.

For the three-person Housing Authority, the race includes incumbents David Williams, Nancy Schroeder and Michael Burkart and newcomer Jessica Mix Barrington.

Five of the six people running for Jones Library trustees are incumbents, with Farah Ameen the lone newcomer, joining Austin Sarat, Robert Pam, Alex Lefebvre, Tamson Ely and Lee Edwards.

Sign up for our free email updates
Daily Hampshire Gazette Headlines
Daily Hampshire Gazette Contests & Promotions
Daily Hampshire Gazette Evening Top Reads
Daily Hampshire Gazette Breaking News
Daily Hampshire Gazette Obits
Daily Hampshire Gazette Sports
Daily Hampshire Gazette PM Updates
Daily Hampshire Gazette Weekly Top Stories
Daily Hampshire Gazette Valley Advocate


Support Local Journalism

Subscribe to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, your leading source for news in the Pioneer Valley.

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy