Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Award Winners in Hampshire County

Last modified: Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Teachers from public schools in Hampshire and Franklin counties chosen for this year’s Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards will be honored May 6 at the Log Cabin in Holyoke.

The 11th annual awards, sponsored by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation, come with $500, local YMCA memberships and scholarships for courses at Bay Path, Elms, and Springfield colleges, Western New England and Westfield State universities. Here are this year’s award-winning teachers in Hampshire County public schools:

Amherst Pelham schools — Nettie Harrington Pangallo, pre-school, Pelham Elementary; Donna Gagnon, kindergarten, Wildwood Elementary; Anne White, music, Fort River Elementary; Jennifer Welborn, science, Amherst Regional Middle School; Lee Larcheveque, computer technology, Amherst Regional High School.

Belchertown — Melissa Gramuglia, physical education, Jabish Brook Middle School; Rachel Goldenberg and Louise Levy, science, Belchertown High School.

Easthampton — Katy Berube, reading, Maple School; Jan de Ubl, seventh grade science, White Brook Middle School; Susan Mason, health, Easthampton High School.

Granby — LeeAnn Frank, fourth grade, East Meadow School; Joan Vohl Hamilton, eighth grade English, Granby Junior/Senior High School.

Hadley — Barbara White, fourth grade, Hadley Elementary; Catherine Niedziela, science, Hopkins Academy.

Hampshire Regional — Karie Neal, art, New Hingham Regional Elementary; Michael O’Connell, physical education, Westhampton Elementary; Mark Cavallon, business and technology, Hampshire Regional High School.

Hatfield — Megan Millette, sixth grade, Hatfield Elementary School; Giles Hopkins, English, Smith Academy.

Northampton — Paula Welchman, fifth grade, Jackson Street School; Tim Levy, seventh grade math, JFK Middle School; Melissa Power-Greene, special education, Northampton High School. New teacher: Daniel Haryasz, eighth grade social studies, JFK.

Pioneer Valley Performing Arts Charter School: Jim Cox, high school social studies.

Smith Vocational and Agricultural High School — John Kislo, culinary department.

South Hadley — Mary Farrin, fifth grade, Michael E. Smith Middle School; Sylvia Cooley, science, Margaret Eckert, social studies, South Hadley High School.


Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2020 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy