Jack Horner, Margaret Laselle to be honored as Northampton Democrats of Year

Last modified: Sunday, October 28, 2012

The Northampton Democratic Committee will recognize the work of four longtime party stalwarts at a breakfast celebration at Look Park’s Garden House on Oct. 21.

The breakfast will honor Northampton residents Jack Hornor and Margaret Laselle as the committee’s Democrats of the Year. In addition, former City Council president James Dostal and Sen. Stan Rosenberg of Amherst will be presented with the George McGovern Award.

“People who have been very active should be recognized for their work for the Democratic Party,” said Bill Rosen of Northampton, Democratic State Committee Man for Franklin, Hampshire and Worcester districts and an event organizer.

He described Laselle as “one of those unsung heroes of politics,” who has worked behind the scenes organizing campaigns and getting out the vote.

Rosen said Hornor has alsO been very active in Democratic Party Circles, locally and statewide, helping on campaigns and raising money, “a very demanding job.”

“He’s been a key figure in Mass Equality,” said Rosen, a grassroots organization that aims to achieve full equality for the LGBT community.

Both Dostal and Rosenberg have devoted many years to improving and helping their communities.

The event, which starts at 9 a.m. is $25 per person, advanced reservations only. Make checks payable to: Northampton Democratic Committee, 182 Chestnut St., Northampton MA 01060. For more information, call Patricia Shaughnessy at 584-6068.

The Garden House is located at 300 North Main St. (Route 9), Florence.



Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2020 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy