Schreiber won’t seek another term on Amherst Town Council

  • Amhest town councilor Stephen Schreiber, right, pictured when he was a candidate in 2018. Gazette file photo

Staff Writer
Published: 8/5/2021 12:30:50 PM

AMHERST — A University of Massachusetts architecture professor’s selection as the director of the National Architecture Accrediting Board is prompting his decision to not seek reelection to the Town Council.

Stephen Schreiber, chairman of the Department of Architecture who has served as one of two District 4 representatives on the inaugural council, sent a letter to his colleagues Wednesday announcing his plans. He cited his recent three-year appointment to the accrediting board that begins in November.

“The NAAB position also will be a huge time commitment,” Schreiber wrote, explaining that the accrediting board helps shape architecture education and the practice of architecture in the United States and other countries where it is recognized. “Thus, I have decided not to run for reelection to Town Council.”

Schreiber becomes the third councilor to announce he will step away after one term, following District 1 Councilor Sarah Swartz and At-Large Councilor Alisa Brewer.

“It has been an honor to serve with all of you on this inaugural Town Council. I am proud of our collective work,” Schreiber wrote.

Before serving on the Town Council, Schreiber was a member of the town’s Planning Board and its chairman.

In his letter, he added that he would be rooting for colleagues in their campaigns and supporting an affirmative vote on the referendum to expand and renovate the Jones Library, and that he might use the council’s next meeting to offer more comments.

So far, councilors who have pulled papers to run for reelection include Mandi Jo Hanneke and Andy Steinberg, who both serve at large, Cathy Schoen of District 1, Pat DeAngelis and Lynn Griesemer of District 2, Dorothy Pam and George Ryan of District 3, Evan Ross of District 4 and Shalini Bahl-Milne of District 5. Griesemer has also pulled papers for at large.

Others who have gotten papers include Viraphanh Douangmany-Cage, Robert Greeney, Irvin Rhodes and Ellisha Walker, all for at large, Michele Miller for District 1 and Ana Devlin Gauthier for District 5. Greeney has also pulled nomination forms for District 3 and Walker also for District 5.

Scott Merzbach can be reached at

Daily Hampshire Gazette Office

115 Conz Street
Northampton, MA 01061


Copyright © 2021 by H.S. Gere & Sons, Inc.
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy