Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 25° | Lo 4°

New England Basketball Hall of Fame to induct John Calipari, Derek Kellogg

The New England Basketball Hall of Fame’s annual army of inductees includes several people with University of Massachusetts ties.

Former men’s coaches John Calipari, Bruiser Flint and Ray Wilson will be joined by former players Lou Roe, Mike Pyatt and Peter Trow.

Derek Kellogg, the current coach, and former coach Tom McLaughlin will be honored in the Ronnie Perry category for their combined performances as players and coaches.

Former player and assistant coach Bill Bayno will be inducted for his playing career at Sacred Heart where he transferred after UMass.

The NEBHOF also honors teams. The “Jack Leaman Era” UMass teams from 1967-1979 are being inducted.

Former women’s star Octavia Thomas will also be honored, as will UMass assistant women’s coach Morgan Valley, who’ll be honored for her high school career in Vermont.

Former Smith College standouts Christian Hobson and Marcella Zalot are also being inducted.

The NEBHOF ceremony will be held June 22 at the DCU Center in Worcester.

WESTERN HOCKEY POWER COMING TO AMHERST — Perennial WCHA power Denver, which has been in the NCAA tournament each of the last six seasons, will visit UMass on Dec. 17 for a rare midweek game. The Pioneers, who finished 20-14-5 last year, lost to New Hampshire in the NCAA tournament.

LACROSSE HONORS — UMass junior attack Katie Ferris and junior defender Kelsey McGovern were named to the IWLCA All-America Third Team that was announced Wednesday morning.

For the men’s team, seniors Colin Fleming, Ryan Hollenbaugh, Jake Smith and Brett Tobin were named to the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association’s scholar athlete team. The honor goes to graduating seniors with grade point averages at or above 3.0 and who have excelled on the field.

Get UMass coverage delivered in your Facebook news feed at www.facebook.com/GazetteUMassCoverage.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.