Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 25° | Lo 6°

Town Moderator only contested race in Westhampton town election June 1

Town Moderator is the only contested race in the upcoming June 1 municipal election, with two candidates running for a single one-year seat.

At last month’s town caucus, Jennifer Walters and Richard “Bill” Tracy were nominated for the position that had been filled for nearly three decades by Ralph Hancewicz. Hancewicz moved to Rhode Island with his wife, Euthecia, last month.

Voters at the April 23 caucus nominated incumbents for seats on the Board of Assessors, Planning Board and library trustees.

No candidates filed for the position of auditor or Hampshire councilor, which means those offices will be filled by write-in votes on June 1, according to Town Clerk Patricia Cotton.

In addition, two candidates for seats on the Board of Health and one each for the Finance and Recreation committees did not sign their nomination papers, meaning their names will not appear on the ballot, Cotton said. Those offices will also be filled by write-in votes.

Another candidate for a three-year seat on the Finance Committee was not a registered town voter, so that seat will also be filled by write-in votes.

In addition to Walters and Tracy, the following candidates were nominated at Town Caucus and will appear on the ballot in June:

Selectboard (one three-year seat): Arthur Pichette

Board of Assessors (one 3-year seat): incumbent Dolores Thornhill

Planning Board (one 3-year seat): incumbent Mark Schwallie

Finance Committee (three 3-year seats): Celeste Whiting, Jacqueline Brodeur, Aniko Giordano.

Elementary School Committee (one 3-year seat): incumbent Ashleigh Norris

Tree Warden (one 1-year seat): Stephen Holt.

Library Trustees (two 3-year seats): incumbent Sarah Mulvehill and newcomer Michele Nevins.

Constable North District (one 3-year seat): incumbent Leroy Douchkoff.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.