Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 16° | Lo -9°

Three vie for Select Board seat in Monday’s Southampton Town Election

— A National Guardsman, an employee of the William E. Norris School and a 10-year veteran of the Finance Committee are seeking the open seat for Select Board Monday.

The seat came open when Select Board member Ann W. Roy announced she would not seek re-election. It is the only contested race on the ballot for the election — polls are open at Town Hall from noon to 8 p.m.

The candidates are John O. Martin, 61, 106 Clark St., Elizabeth A. Moulton, 32, 115 Pleasant St., and Timothy R. Judd, 25, 166 College Highway.

Martin said his 10 years of experience on the Finance Committee, especially when he worked with departments making budget requests, would be an asset for the Select Board. He is also running for re-election to that committee, but would resign if he was elected to the Select Board.

If elected, he said he wants to update personnel policies and develop “formal procedures” for town departments. “And I want to bring the departments together more often to discuss budgetary needs and the needs of the town,” he said.

Moulton, the food service director at the Norris School, said she wants to be on the Select Board to be an advocate for young families. “No one represents young families with young children,” she said.

She said she supports the development of a greenway on a former railbed, which the town is currently in negotiations to purchase. “I think it’s great to offer a safe environment for people to be outside,” she said.

Judd did not respond to requests for an interview.

There are no candidates for vacancies on the Finance Committee and the Board of Assessors.

The following candidates are also on the ballot seeking seats that are uncontested: John O. Martin, re-election to the Finance Committee; Melissa A. Kelly, School Committee; Tiffany T. Labrie, Planning Board; Ronald D. Laurin, re-election to the Board of Health; Robert K. Floyd, re-election as moderator; William M. Curran, re-election to the Hampshire Regional School Committee; Elizabeth E. Couture, re-election to the Board of Almoners; David S. Garstka, re-election as tree warden; Mark P. Reed, re-election to the Park Commission; Timothy P. O’Leary, Personnel Policy and Procedure Board; Thomas E. Neill, Water Commission; Anne-Marie Darcy, Housing Authority; Christopher M. Bowen, Cemetery Commission; George A. Symborski, Hampshire Council of Governments; and Teresa D. Barton, Debra J. Pinsky, Alison F. Strolis and Patrick T. Wright for four available positions as library trustees.

Rebecca Everett can be reached at reverett@gazettenet.com.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.