Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 38° | Lo 21°

Four-way Select Board race emerges from Southampton caucus

After last week’s caucus to nominate candidates for the May 6 town election, the only contest is a four-way race for a single Select Board seat.

Select Board member Ann M. Roy is not seeking re-election and the candidates vying for the seat are John O. Martin of 106 Clark St., a member of the Finance Committee; George A. Symborski of 10 Golden Circle, a councilor on the Hampshire Council of Governments; Elizabeth A. Moulton of 115 Pleasant St.; and Timothy R. Judd of 166 College Highway.

At the Thursday caucus, attended by 41 voters, a total of 20 candidates were nominated for 21 available positions in the election.

The following candidates will be on the May 6 ballot: John O. Martin, for re-election to the Finance Committee; Melissa A. Kelly, for a seat on the School Committee; Tiffany T. Labrie, for a seat on the Planning Board; Ronald D. Laurin, for re-election to the Board of Health; Robert K. Floyd, for re-election as moderator; William M. Curran, for re-election to the Hampshire Regional School Committee; Elizabeth E. Couture, for re-election to the Board of Almoners; David S. Garstka, for re-election as tree warden; Mark P. Reed, for re-election to the Park Commission; Timothy P. O’Leary, for a seat on the Personnel Policy and Procedure Board; Thomas E. Neill, for a seat on the Water Commission; Anne-Marie Darcy, for a seat on the Housing Authority; Christopher M. Bowen, for a seat on the Cemetery Commission; George A. Symborski, for councilor on the Hampshire Council of Governments; and Teresa D. Barton, Debra J. Pinsky, Alison F. Strolis and Patrick T. Wright for the four available positions as library trustees.

There are no candidates for vacancies on the Finance Committee and the Board of Assessors, but residents could be elected if voters write them in on election day.


Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.