Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 10° | Lo -11°


To submit an item to Friends & Neighbors, send an email to newsroom@gazettenet.com or mail your news to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, Box 299, Northampton, MA 01061, c/o Friends & Neighbors.


Elizabeth B. Woolf, of Amherst, was awarded a degree at St. Lawrence University’s May 19 commencement ceremony. Woolf graduated cum laude with a degree in environmental studies and sociology.

Brianna Leonard, a sociology major, was named to the dean’s list at Eastern Connecticut State University for the spring semester. Leonard’s major is sociology.


Belchertown High School sophomore Richard Kim is teaching about climate change as part of a University of Massachusetts Lowell project that features his artwork on Lowell Regional Transit Authority buses.

Kim designed the campaign “Change, it’s Happening” for UMass Lowell’s Cool Science contest, which asked students to create artwork that educates the public about climate change. Kim’s work can be seen through this month on placards on LRTA buses, and is also displayed inside buses and inside the terminal.

Beloit College

The following local students graduated on May 12: Sarah Conn of Northampton; Katherine Atkinson of Leverett; and Hannah Warren of Amherst.

Clark University

The following local residents received degrees May 19: Nicholas C. Kellogg, Florence; Scott J. Catlin, Amherst; Derek M. Luong, Southampton; Margaret F. Broad, Shutesbury; Edmund Harris, Haydenville; Lori Michelle Johnson, Belchertown; Emily T. Schweitzer, Hadley; Molly F. Cooksy, Leverett; Matthew V. Furman, Southampton; Nikoleta Sremac, Amherst; Corey R. Boyle, Easthampton; and Alexander J. Kump, Belchertown.

Clemson University

Parker Cowls Jones of Amherst and Kyle John Mish of Hadley were named to the spring semester dean’s list.


Catherine Moulton received the Senior Achievement Award at Colby-Sawyer College’s commencement on May 11. The award is presented to a senior who has displayed leadership qualities.

Moulton served as chair of Community Council, was a campus tour guide, and worked with Media Services. A dean’s list student and member of the Iota Tau Alpha honor society, Moulton volunteered at the Boston Marathon, and was a member of the Exercise and Sport Management Club and the Athletic Training Club.


Kyle Pouliot, son of Paula and Erin (Ryan) Pouliot, graduated from Greenfield Community College’s Paramedic Program. He is a 2010 graduate of Hampshire Regional High School.

Fitchburg State University

The following students were named to the dean’s list: Jordan Conrad, Benjamin DeTour, Jesse Hastings, Corey Olivier and Nikolas Vogel, all of Belchertown; Damien P. Rule of Hadley; Michael Leva of West Whately; and Jennifer E. Mason of Worthington.


Kyle J. Mish, son of MaryAnn and Jeffrey Mish, graduated from Clemson University May 10, with a bachelor’s degree in industrial engineering. Mish was also named to the dean’s list for the spring semester.

Jessica Thelen was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Westfield State University, and was elected president of Sigma Tau Delta, an international English honor society.


Charlotte Roberts, daughter of Paul and Abigail Roberts, graduated from Ithaca College. She graduated cum laude and with honor. Charlotte initiated petitions to local government to install pedestrian sidewalks, and will be working to help the city convert a coal-powered plant to greener uses.


Leigh Handschuh, daughter of Tom and Ellen Handschuh, received a master’s degree in public administration from Suffolk University, Sawer Business School, on May 19. She was inducted into Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society for public affairs and administration and was also awarded the Outstanding MPA Student Award from Suffolk’s Institute for Public Service. Handschuh works at The Boston Foundation.

Keene State College

The following students were named to the college’s dean’s list: Andrew Weigel of Cummington, Kaitlin Richotte of Hadley, Kristin Szymkowicz of Hadley, Angus Fisher of Northampton, Nicole Kelly of South Hadley, Taylor Howe of Montague, Benjamin Mailloux of Montague and August Price of South Deerfield.

Marist College

The following local residents graduated from Marist College on May 24: Patrick Ramsey of Easthampton, who received a bachelor of arts degree in communication; and Kate VandenDolder of Sunderland, who received a bachelor of science degree in criminal justice.

Oregon State University

The following area students will receive master’s degrees from Oregon State University at its June 15 commencement: Matthew D. Pierce of Amherst, science and chemistry; David P. Schary of Northampton, public health; and Caitlin E. Donovan, Sunderland, animal science.

Quinnipiac University

The following area residents graduated May 19: Krystle Bernier, Granby, Andrea Klepacki, Hadley, Ashley Lemire, Easthampton, Ethan Rees, Ashfield, Brien Slate, Granby, and Kate Stamell, Shutesbury.

Saint Anselm College

The following area students graduated in the school’s May 18 ceremony: Evan B. Dell’Olio of Belchertown, Michael J. Hayden of Easthampton, Ashley M. Muraczewski of Belchertown, Jillian E. Tonelli of Cummington.

Also, Evan B. Dell’Olio, Jillian E. Tonelli, Timothy J. Cooke of Hadley, Kyle M. Grumoli of South Hadley, and Robert B. Carkhuff of Amherst, were named to the college’s spring semester dean’s list.

St. Olaf College

Local residents graduating from the college include Lucy Casale of Leeds, an English major, who is the daughter of Christopher and Kathleen Casale; and Scott Woodside of Leverett, an economics and environmental studies major, son of Thomas and Charlsie Woodside.

St. Lawrence University

The following local students graduated in the May 19 commencement ceremony: Thomas C. Barry of Amherst; Samuel R. DeMello of Easthampton; Jonathan A. Foster-Moore of Florence; Kayli Rittall of Montague; and Brody F. Ryan of Florence.

South Hadley

The South Hadley Lions Club awarded six scholarships to graduating seniors.

The Thomas Landers Scholarship was presented to Amanda Lachat; she is the first female athlete to receive the $1,000 scholarship. The following students received $500 scholarships: Casandra McClaflin, George Fiore, Brett Flaherty, Tess Gauthier and Jenna Marie Pope.

The International Lions Club Award of Excellence was presented to SHHS Leo Club President Kaitlin Barry.


Timothy Haggerty received a diploma from Pomfret School at the school’s May 26 commencement.


Jonathan Wickman was named to the spring semester dean’s list at Dean College.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

The following local residents were named to the university’s dean’s list for the spring semester: Paul Ciolek, Conor Hennessey, Daniel Fitzgerald, Julia Lamontagne and Aaron Sabbs, all of South Hadley, Lindsay Jones of Belchertown, Louis Fogel of Amherst, Jonathan Labrie of Southampton, Edwin McGlew of West Hatfield, Owen West of Northampton, and Michael Schmidt of Belchertown.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.