Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 16° | Lo -9°

Friends & Neighbors



To submit an item to Friends & Neighbors, send an email to newsroom@gazettenet.com or mail your news to the Daily Hampshire Gazette, Box 299, Northampton, Ma. 01061, c/o Friends & Neighbors.


Seamus Jeremiah O’Neill, son of Terrence and Michelle O’Neill, graduated June 9 from Phillips Academy, Andover.

He was assistant captain of the varsity hockey team and co-captain of the varsity baseball team. He received the Phelps Award, which is awarded to an athlete whose sportsmanship, loyalty, humility, and commitment to the success of others is representative of Richard J. Phelps and Phillips Academy.

Seamus will attend Hamilton College, where he will study economics and play hockey in the New England Small College Athletic Conference, an NCAA Division III athletic conference.


Laura Curtis, daughter of Tom and Allison Curtis, was named to the spring semester dean’s list at The College of Our Lady of the Elms, Chicopee.

The Polish Pulaski Club of Easthampton, Inc., has awarded its annual scholarships to the following people: Sarah Foley, of Westhampton, daughter of June and John Foley, will attend Bay Path College, Longmeadow. Easthampton residents Megan Grygorcewicz, daughter of Kelly and Peter Grygorcewicz, will attend The College of Our Lady of the Elms, Chicopee; Keith Hunter, son of Melanie and Andrew Hunter, will attend Endicott College, Beverly; Jared M. Post, son of Jayne and Bruce Post, will attend the University of Massachusetts Amherst; and Alyssa Reardon, daughter of Lora and Mark Reardon, will attend Springfield College, Springfield.


Michael B. Lentner, son of Mark and Karen Lentner and a graduate of Northampton High School, recently earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Information Technology from the Pamplin College of Business at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Va.

Jessica L. Lentner, daughter of Mark and Karen Lentner and a graduate of Northampton High School and Vassar College, earned a master’s degree in architecture from the College of Architecture and Urban Studies at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, Va., in July. She is a member of Phi Kappa Phi. She was also the 2013 Virginia Tech representative at the Sustainable Design and Urbanism Workshop at Kyushu University in Fukuoka, Japan, and a 2012 architecture residency scholar in Riva San Vitale, Switzerland.


Margaret Yurgielewicz successfully climbed the Kibo summit of Mount Kilimanjaro. She reached Uhuro Peak, the highest point in Africa, at 19,341 feet on July 23. She is a 2011 graduate of Northampton High School.


Seven students from Northampton High School attended a summer art program at Snow Farm: The New England Craft Program, in Williamsburg. Each student selected two studio arts for study during a two-week residency in July. The students and their fields were: Sonja Welch, glassblowing and flameworking; Zach Levitt, digital videography and drawing; Christina Strauss-Kennedy, ceramics and drawing; Artur Strauss-Kennedy, welding and woodworking; Sophie Lellman, digital photography and drawing; Olivia Landry, ceramics and drawing, and Winnie Brown, ceramics and metalsmithing.

St. Lawrence University

The following students are participating in the Canton, N.Y. school’s international study program for the fall 2013 semester:

Nicholas S. DeSantis, a graduate of Belchertown High School, majoring in philosophy; Lindsey S. Dirats, of Easthampton, a graduate of the Williston-Northampton School, an international economics and multi-languages major; Teagan Fleiner-Etheridge, of Leverett, a graduate of Amherst Regional High School who is majoring in anthropology; and Martha B. Hamlin, a graduate of South Hadley High School, majoring in neuroscience.

South Deerfield

Anita Mizula, of New York City and formerly of South Deerfield, recently received her master’s degree in business administration from New York University’s Stern Business School, graduating with distinction in finance. A 2000 graduate of Frontier Regional High School, she received her undergraduate degree in economics from Smith College in 2004, cum laude, and has worked for J.P. Morgan since then. She is also a member of the New York City Choral Society.


Amanda Jane Bennett, daughter of Bruce and Debra Bennett, was named to the dean’s list at the University of Chicago for the 2012-2013 academic year. She is majoring in Near Eastern languages and civilizations, and is a member of the Class of 2014.

University of Massachusetts Amherst

The following local students, listed by hometown, graduated with bachelor’s degrees in May from UMass Amherst:

Amherst: Peter J. Adams, Raghav Ahooja, Gizem Arslanbas, Casey James Baker, Zoë B. Balmuth, Benjamin Eli Beaudett, Krystopher Lee Berg, Kirill Bernikov, Michelle McGraw Boisvert, Ashley Kathleen Boudrow, Rose Helena Boyko, Hollis Elizabeth Brashear, LeeAnne M. Brown, Stephanie Rose Brunet, Jairus Burdick, Min Jae Byun, Robert Thomas Carlezon Jr., Terri May Nyuk Chai, Sean A Chang, Changyue Chen, Jeffrey Chen, Joseph David Chenelle, David Lee Choi, Tricia Anne Christie, Christopher W. Condry, Rebecca Tayler Cottman, Matthew J. Couture, Kevin Charles Cox, Arianna Renee DeMinico, Brian L. Doherty Jr., Emma Leigh Donahue, Sean J. Dube, Gabriel K. El Sebae, Katherine Ann Evans, Luyi Fang, Olivia V. Faulkner, Haleigh F. Finch, David Ari Fine, Margaux Eliot Flood, Tara Lynn Fredenburgh, Rachel Dara Freid, David Pierce Gamliel, John B. Gilbert, Aidan Edward Gilchrist, Juan Jose Gonzalez, Sophia A. Greene, Karl Olaf Grette, Ngawang T. Gyatso, Jeannie Rose Hakala, Adam J. Harrington, Adam J. Hever, Jesse Elizabeth Horne, Jerry R. Jarnagin, Colin Joseph Jonielunas, Minki Kim, Na-Kyung Kim, Elana Miriam Kleiman, Trung K. Le, Anne Heejai Lee, Gina M. Lein, Raphael Hugo Leopold, Yevgeni V. Levitzky, Megan J. Lieff, Frank Lin, Kirsten Elise Lindsmith, Jonathan P. Maciejewski, Cameron Lee Manderfield, Meaghan Lyndsay Mannion, Ian Paul McCracken, Ahmed Amr Hassan Mostafa, Olivia Irene-Strycker Newcomb, Mami Yoshikatsu Okamoto, Kathryn Parks, Christina N. Pentikis, Daniel Santo Petronella, Pengse Po, Conor Charles Power, Hali J. Race, Emily Anne Randall, Nicolas Zac Reyes, Aaron Lennon Rubin, Dylan Russell, James J. Rutter, Alexander N. Sachs, Yassal Shafiq, Ankur Sheel, Irina A. Showalter, Erika D. Slocumb, Reed M. Smith II, Stacey Rebeca Sotelo, Kira Svirskiy, Rebecca Louise Tobey, Michael Tracy, Paul Uccello, Megan Margaret Valcour, Ashley Lauren Veasy, Benjamin Stubbs Waldman, Jacob Kirtley Waldman, Sean W. Walker, Trevor Douglas Wellman, Donald Andrew Wykstra, Anna Rose Cartier, Bryana Alexis Freiter, David R. Granger, Xinyuan Hu, Storie Elizabeth Libby, Michael S. Spahr, Tasha Candy Deschamps, and Joseph Lawrence Pereira

Deerfield: David Allen Bennett, Christopher Williams

Hadley: Jacob Goldman, Zachary J. Hunter, Emily Anne Izer, Michael Patrick Kelly, Emily Mary Morse, Shannon M. Rice, and Liudmila N. Rudich.

Pelham: Timothy John Light, John Michael Santos

Shutesbury: Bridgette L. Fortier, and Patrick Sephton

South Deerfield: Sara L. Duhl, Berit Lenette Bjerkadal, Casey Elizabeth Boduch, Jared J. Nye, Jillian Muriel Pasiecnik, Jonathan L. Pepyne, Christopher A. Ragusa, Andrew Scott, and Megan Elizabeth Tolpa

Sunderland: Malinda A. Sears, Hannah Lydia Carrillo, Zachariah J. Clark, Jackson Michael Cranshaw, Charles Gordon Daole-Wellman, Nathan Daniel Deren, Jeffrey Robert DuCharme, Edal Philleep Fontaine, Mehreen Hafeez, Keelynn Harris, Antonia Catherine Louise Moore, Alexander M. Newman, Shalin Nitin Patel, Katelyn Day Rennie, Vaneta Lynnette Scott, Courtney M. Silva, Christopher N. Verrilli, Taylor D. Wadsworth, John R. Woodward, and Kai Zhao

Whately: Ian W. Downs

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.