Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 37° | Lo 19°

Guilford Mooring, John Waskiewicz II win in Hadley

  • Merle Buckhout of Hadley voting at Hopkins academy Tuesday afternoon.
  • Ted and Merle   Buckhout of Hadley voting at Hopkins academy Tuesday afternoon.

Guilford Mooring of Sunrise Avenue and John Waskiewicz II of East Street won the two three-year seats with 604 and 496 votes, respectively, at Tuesday’s annual town election.

Wilfred Danylieko, the town’s electrical inspector, and former Select Board member John Mieczkowksi trailed with 394 and 335 votes.

Town Clerk Jessica Spanknebel said 1,051 of the 3,800 registered voters cast ballots, for a 27.7 percent turnout.

“We all have to work together for the best interests of the town,” Waskiewicz said. “We have to get back to that.”

A town employee for 32 years and currently assistant chief operator for the wastewater treatment plant, Waskiewicz said he has gotten along with supervisors, employees and inspectors.

He said he wants to bring this collegiality into discussions about the condition of municipal buildings and the work that should be done on them, and whether the Department of Public Works is functioning as well as it can.

Mooring, 48, is the Department of Public Works superintendent in Amherst and has been in public service for 23 years. He said he will pursue ideas for how to continue providing core services to the community.

“We should definitely try to get a facility plan for the buildings,” Mooring said. “We should move forward with recommendations for the fire department.”

Mooring said he expected a closer race, but was having a celebratory champagne with those who assisted on his campaign at his home.

“I’m amazed at what numbers are. It’s kind of exciting and scary at the same time,” Mooring said.

Danylieko said the vote indicates residents wanted to maintain the status quo, which he characterized as not getting buildings repaired or undertaking any sort of action plan, instead wasting money on hiring consultants.

This came after he spearheaded an unsuccessful petition to remove Town Administrator David Nixon last year.

“I guess the town figured they want to continue the way it is, doing studies and doing nothing,” Danylieko said.

He said he worries about the new Select Board members because of their full-time work commitments.

“I just hope the two people who are going to be new selectmen can spend time to oversee some of this stuff,” Danyliekop said

Mieczkowski, who was removed from the Select Board in a recall election in 2002, could not be reached for comment.

Mooring and Waskiewicz will replace incumbents Gloria DiFulvio and David Moskin, who both opted against seeking re-election.

In other elections, Heather Klesch of Bargate Lane will be the new member of the School Committee after winning an uncontested race to fill the seat long held by Thomas Waskiewicz, who opted against another term.

James Maksimoski of Norwottuck Drive earned another term on the Planning Board and newcomer Richard Grader of Bay Road will be a new member of the Board of Assessors.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.