Daily Hampshire Gazette - Established 1786
Hi 43° | Lo 27°

Check it out: Health programs and awards 


A program on vision health will be offered Wednesday at Ascent Audiology and Hearing Center on Russell Street in Hadley.

Maribeth Erb of Optical Studio in Northampton will offer two “lunch and learn” sessions, at 10:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. Erb will discuss eye exams, diet and nutrition, and conditions such as glaucoma. cataracts and macular degeneration.

Lunch will be served free of charge. Make a reservation by calling (413) 203-4142.


Holyoke Medical Center will present *Diabetes, Am I at Risk?* with Dr. Jefferson Dickey Wednesday at 6 p.m. in the medical center*s Auxiliary Conference Center.

According to the American Diabetes Association, more than 25 million Americans have diabetes, with 7 million people undiagnosed.

Dickey will discuss differences among pre-diabetes and Type 1, Type 2 and gestational diabetes, as well as symptoms, prevention and treatment. Pre-registration is required; call (413) 534-2789.


Several award recipients were honored recently during the Cooley Dickinson Hospital annual Board of Trustees meeting.

Marilyn Tracy, past president and volunteer for the CDH Auxiliary, and Edith Peter, vice president and chief financial officer, received the William E. Dwyer Distinguished Service Awards. The award is given to those whose service exemplifies loyalty, leadership and dedication to improving the health of the community.

Christina Trinchero, marketing communications director, received the BECOME award, which recognizes an employee who models the Cooley Dickinson organizational values.

Dr. Richard Levrault received the Medical Staff Clinical Excellence Award, given to physicians who achieved significant improvement in clinical outcomes. He was especially effective in creating and implementing a protocol that has reduced sepsis mortality to below 10 percent at Cooley Dickinson.

The Teamwork Award went to Dr. Jeff Zesiger, who nominators said accomplishes “an enormous amount of behind-the-scenes coordination with primary caregivers, visiting nurse and hospice teams, families/direct caregivers and subspecialty providers.”

Dr. Paul Baecher received the Medical Staff Patient-Centered Care Award, demonstrating a high level of empathic care and looking to the patient’s values to guide decisions.

Jeannie Johndrow received the Medical Staff Nursing Care Excellence Award, which recognizes exemplary teamwork with physicians.

Legacy Comments0
There are no comments yet. Be the first!
Post a Comment

You must be registered to comment on stories. Click here to register.