Friends and Neighbors: Community members’ achievements

  • Robert Garvey, retiring from his post of 32 years as Hampshire County Sheriff, gets a goodbye hug from Hampshire Superior Court First Assistant Clerk Nancy Foley as Garvey and his wife, Jane Garvey, walking at right, leave the Hampshire County Courthouse in Northampton after a swearing-in ceremony for incoming Hampshire County Sheriff Patrick Cahillane on Wednesday, January 4, 2017.

Friday, January 06, 2017

Richard Atkinson, class of 2019, was named to the fall semester high honors list at Pomfret School in Pomfret, Connecticut.


Erin Finn was recently named to the fall semester president's list at The State University of New York at Potsdam, New York. Finn’s major is music performance.


Emily Young was named to the fall semester dean’s list at the University of Vermont.

South Deerfield

Michael Kennedy of Clemmons, North Carolina, has been placed on the Winston-Salem State University Dean’s List for fall 2016.  He is the son of Michael Kennedy of Southwick and JoEllen Miner of South Deerfield.

South Hadley

Nathan Donze, class of 2017, was named to the fall semester high honors list at Pomfret School in Pomfret, Connecticut.

Hannah Milewski was named to the fall semester dean's list at Johnson & Wales University in Providence, Rhode Island. She is a first year student majoring in hospitality and travel/tourism. She is a 2016 graduate of Hopkins Academy.

Martin O'Brien was named to the fall semester dean’s list at Hudson Valley Community College. O'Brien is studying in the mortuary science academic program at the Troy, New York college.


Jacob Dionne  was awarded a college scholarship from The Massachusetts Bankers Association Scholarship Foundation. The scholarships are available to eligible children of bank employees. Dionne will be attending  the University of New Haven in New Haven, Connecticut.

Lasell College

Local students named to the fall semester dean’s list at the college in Newton, include: 

Brooke Kulik and Victoria Willis, both of Belchertown; Katherine Burke of Conway; Haley McFarland of Easthampton; Derek McMahon of Hatfield; Krystel Enko of Haydenville; Allison Garriepy of Huntington, and Melinda Esposito of Sunderland.

Williston Northampton School

Five local students were inducted into the Williston Northampton School chapter of the Cum Laude Society on Jan. 6. The students, all seniors, are Sima Gandevia of Hadley, Tomasz Paluchowski of Springfield, Anna Wilinsky of Florence, Emily Yeager of Easthampton, and Molly Zawacki of Easthampton.