Two competing for Select Board post in Pelham

Last modified: Monday, April 28, 2014
PELHAM — The Town Auditor and a member of the Board of Health and are facing off to replace Linda Michaud on the Select Board in the town election Saturday.

David J. Goldin and Richard M. Hall are seeking the three-year term in the only contested race in the town election. Michaud is not seeking re-election.

Voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Pelham Elementary School. The election is on the same day as the Annual Town Meeting.

Goldin, 65, who is retired radiation consultant, has been a resident of town for over 10 years. Beside serving as auditor, he is a member of the Board of Assessors. He is also the Select Board’s appointee to the Community Preservation Committee. In the past, he served on the Planning Board for six years. His wife, Sally, is an assistant to the director at the town library.

Hall, 54, a member of the Board of Health, is the owner of Hall Poultry Farm and a lifelong resident of town. He is married to Laura Hall and the couple has two sons. He was a Select Board member for about a decade from the late 1990s into the 2000s and has served as fire chief, dog officer and acting police chief.

Jacques M. Graton is looking to serve a three-year-vacancy as a library trustee. Graton has been a resident of town and a volunteer at the library for 20 years.

Also running unopposed in the election are incumbents Kathleen M. Martell for Town Clerk, James Doubleday Jr. for the Board of Assessors, Christopher H. Rice for the Board of Health, Joan L. Levy for the Library Trustees and Trevor A. Baptiste for School Committee, all three-year terms. Running unopposed for a one-year-seat on the School Committee is Emily Elizabeth Marriott, who was appointed to complete an unfinished term in November 2013.

Peter C. Wilson is up for a five-year-term on the Planning Board and Town Moderator Daniel E. Robb is running for another one-year-term.

There are no candidates for a two-year-term and a one-year-term on the Planning Board, a three-year-term on the Cemetery Commission and a one-year-term for Town Auditor.